Steve's Garage - Page 4

Go Back   Jeep Cherokee Forum > Jeep Cherokee Forums > Jeep Builds

CherokeeTalk.com is the premier Jeep Cherokee Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2019, 03:57 PM   #46
wjlizard
Veteran
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

I would wash with DAWN dish soap first, then scuff, then use a degreaser- wax remover and wash again. Let dry and prime and paint. Wear rubber gloves during the whole process cause the oil in your hands will ruin the job.....
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-14-2019, 07:52 PM   #47
1_2_XjU

I have zero knowledge of actual engine building. (Willing to learn though) anything I should look for while I have the valve cover off? Some of the rockers have a little bit of play when wiggled as you can hear in this video. Others are solid. Any concern?

https://youtu.be/fxZlh_LrcpY
Toothless - 02 WJ
Sally - 79 Wagoneer
1_2_XjU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 08:34 PM   #48
Gluckmysock
Super MOD! Yeah Baby!!

Garage

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1_2_XjU View Post
I have zero knowledge of actual engine building. (Willing to learn though) anything I should look for while I have the valve cover off? Some of the rockers have a little bit of play when wiggled as you can hear in this video. Others are solid. Any concern?

https://youtu.be/fxZlh_LrcpY
It's not unusual for some to be loose while others are tight. It all depends on the position of the cam shaft and what valves are either open, closed or in between. Be very careful cleaning the top. There are holes that let the oil drain back down into the crankcase. You don't want any sludge plugging those holes.

May 2015, June 2017 & December 2018 Modified Cherokee XJ of the Month
December 2013 Stock Class Cherokee of the month
Gluckmysock is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-14-2019, 10:08 PM   #49
1_2_XjU

Default Steve's Garage

Dig.