Jeep Cherokee Talk banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
229 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. I am new to the forum. I have done some searching and found lots of great information. There is a parts yard here in Louisville KY that is having a $35 day where if you can carry it out you pay $35! I can carry some leaf springs and coils for sure. I am going to snatch some S-10 leafs for a bastard pack

Here is my question....I read on here somewhere that you can put f-150 front coils in the front and the S-10 leafs in the back and you would have a level 3"-4" lift. Is that true? Is that all I need to do? Will the F-150 coils fit right in? Also, any technical advice for putting the bastard pack together?

I am a noob to the Jeep world, but not a noob mechanic (restored many vehicles), so speak in technical terms, I will understand. Thanks for any advice!

Ray

·
Retired Moderator
7,287 Posts
The F150 coils will work, but just remember that the increased spring rate won't let the suspension flex as well as it would if you used springs with the right rating. The S10 bastard pack is a common setup.

Just remember that increasing the lift height to 3"-4" involves switching other parts as well like the rear brake line, possibly the SYE, rear driveshaft, shims, trackbar relocation, etc etc etc.

·
Registered
229 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The F150 coils will work, but just remember that the increased spring rate won't let the suspension flex as well as it would if you used springs with the right rating. The S10 bastard pack is a common setup.

Just remember that increasing the lift height to 3"-4" involves switching other parts as well like the rear brake line, possibly the SYE, rear driveshaft, shims, trackbar relocation, etc etc etc.
Thanks. Are there any other coils from other pick-ups/suvs that would be better for suspension flex?

Please explain to me what the SYE and track bar are and what they do.