Jeep Cherokee Talk banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i am new to jeeps and need a bit of help. is the 4x4 on these vacuum or mechanical? i cant get my 4x4 handle to lift even a little bit. this is on an 89 I6 laredo... where do i need to start looking/checking?

TIA

·
Registered
1 Posts
Your transfer case ---4x4 engagement is both mec. and vacume! It sounds like your prob. is mech. you need to get underneath your cherokee and adj. your linkage per spec. ____ Any ref. man. will explain the correct proc. As will a quick search on the internet

·
Retired Moderator
7,287 Posts
Try checking the linkage first. If for some reason it is bent or jammed against something, your handle will not move. It may also need adjustment. Post up what you find, if it's not that I'm sure we'll throw more suggestions at ya.

·
Registered
103 Posts
is the handle supposed to be flat, mine sits at about a 15 degree angle up from the council. it goed into 4 high, and neutral, but hits the council before getting to 4 low

·
Premium Member
9,268 Posts
Are you moving while you try to shift it?

·
Registered
1,122 Posts
is the handle supposed to be flat, mine sits at about a 15 degree angle up from the council. it goed into 4 high, and neutral, but hits the council before getting to 4 low
you shifting linkage is bent my 98 use to do that.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #10 (Edited)
Try checking the linkage first. If for some reason it is bent or jammed against something, your handle will not move. It may also need adjustment. Post up what you find, if it's not that I'm sure we'll throw more suggestions at ya.
ok what do i need to look for? i am mechanically inclined, however i am new to 4WD and jeeps. (im used to lowering 2wd trucks) when i am looking at the transfer case what do i need to be looking for?

200XJ said: