Jeep Cherokee Talk banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
608 Posts
Nice looking '98 Sporty. I have the same thing in black with a 3" lift and some 31's. I wish I could have gotten mine for a grand! :cheers:

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thats the sort of rig I was thinking of, how much was it? Was it a lot of work?

This is my first Jeep, im still learning all the details.

·
Registered
608 Posts
Thats the sort of rig I was thinking of, how much was it? Was it a lot of work?

This is my first Jeep, im still learning all the details.
That was my first Jeep too. I picked my way thru it, piece by piece...
I got the lift kit off of ebay for like $200
The shocks were from Summit for $150
the rims from Summit for like $200
and the tires from ebay for $200
I need a new leaf pack though cuz mine are sagging something fierce...

Don't be afraid to buy stuff and stockpile it until you get everything you need for a certain job (i.e.: my lift kit I had for a year before I got the shocks; my tires arrived 3 days before my rims, but I bought them 2 weeks earlier). Just lay out a plan on what you want to do, then assemble the parts necessary, then get down to it. A lot of the stuff you can to to the XJ you can complete in a weekend. It's not a difficult thing to work on at all...

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Cool thanks for the info man, I'll post my pics here if I ever get the chance to upgrade.

·
Registered
608 Posts
In fact.... here's the '98:
(I don't have the lift on it at the moment, it in my living room while I wait on some new stuff)
11-13-08_1033.jpg
and my bone stock '92:
11-13-08_1032.jpg

·
Retired Moderator
7,287 Posts
Congrats on finding a GREAT deal!