Jeep Cherokee Talk banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
whats a good upgrade for a dana 35 with abs i have a 98 jeep cherokee and was thinking of putting in a dana 60 froma 2001 dodge 2500 but an't to sure about the abs

·
Registered
444 Posts
best upgrade i've seen for a D35 is removing it =p lol.

in reality.. by the time you build a D35 to be "strong" you could of bought a D44 and saved a butt load of money.. im a college student.. i like saving money haha

·
Web Wheeler
2,573 Posts
Well if you do pull an axle from that dodge, you better get a matching axle for the front because full widths are WIDE. Your tire will almost clear your fenders.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
i was also thinking of rigging a 8.25 up for abs using stock zj rear disc brake setup and abs axle ring i've done the disc brake setup before but never with an abs unit also i was going to do a stroker and was wondering what head was better for the 4.0L 98 or 94 heard the 94 had bigger ports? thanks guys

·
Web Wheeler
2,573 Posts
Just curious, why is ABS such a big deal for you? I mean it's not that important seeing as how most cherokees don't even have it in the rear.

·
Retired Moderator
7,287 Posts
Not having ABS isn't doing it wrong. My '00 XJ had ABS from the factory, I swapped in an XJ Dana 44 and no longer have ABS. I don't see how I didn't do it "right." If the XJ's came from the factory without ABS as often, if not more often, then when they came from the factory without it, then I don't see how it's wrong.

My braking performance has been unaffected by not having ABS. Yes, I have to do the braking and pumping myself if I want to prevent from locking up the brakes should the situation arise, but that's no different than driving an XJ stock that never had ABS.

·
Web Wheeler
2,573 Posts
maybe i wanna do it right and not go rigging anything etc and dodge rears aren't that much wider then a jeep not like you say anyway