Jeep Cherokee Talk banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
No clue how I'm going to get a 3" lift on my XJ and was wondering if anybody here has ever paid a mechanic to install it.

·
Retired Moderator
7,287 Posts
I don't see why they can't, all they're doing is swapping out old suspension parts for new ones, then doing an alignment. It's the same process as when they are swapping out old springs and installing new ones.

You may want to confirm with them first though, as many won't modify a vehicle because they won't be covered in case something happens. A 3" lift is fairly simple to do, and can be done with a simple collection of tools. Any reason in particular that you don't want to do it yourself?

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Because I have no prior knowledge and barely any if any at all knowledge of suspension parts. Neither do my family members (mostly all girls in my family). I just think it'd be a lot better to do my lift right since I'm going the extra mile to pay the extra $250 or so for full springs instead of AAL.

·
Registered
444 Posts
add-a-leafs are ridiculous and should be outlawed lol..
full leaf packs are definitely worth it, stock XJ leafs blow for wheelin

If you do go with full leaf packs.. which i highly suggest.. before you install them, go to a wrecking yard and pick up a set of anit-wrap leafs off a late model s10.. It's one leaf that is about 5/8" thick at the perch than tapers out flat to about 1/8"

Doing this will protect your leafs against axle wrap..
axle wrap RUINS leaf springs.. and U-Joints.. and axle shafts..

heres a pic of what im talking about...

see how the bottom leaf doesn't touch the rest of the leaf? thats because is sitting there in park.. when you load up the drivetrane, the part that isn't touching will wrap up and to touch the leaf pack then not wrap anymore.. trust me.. breaking shit sucks..

·
Registered
14 Posts