Jeep Cherokee Talk banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This morning i started her up, and something sounds very wrong. (video with sound, link below).
Is it piston slap, rockers, - im new to fixing up my precious so any advise on how to find the problem ??

Cherokee '98 XJ 2.5L Turbo Diesel. And european edition.
So finding parts or experts is harder than the repairs !!

vid with sound

edit: the shaking pipe is the intercooler hose

·
Premium Member
10,443 Posts
Do you have glow plugs?

·
Super Moderator
11,137 Posts
Wow that does sound horrible. I first thought it was a loose spark plug, but its a diesel. I'm not real familiar with the jeep diesel cause we don't have them over here in the states. I would start with checking your glow plugs and injectors to make sure they are all tight. and no major cracks in the exhaust manifold. I wouldn't keep running it until I found the problem. Is it manual or auto. I'm inclined to believe manual. if not, check your convertor bolts. Next would be a compression test. to make sure you don't have a bent/broken valve or some other mechanical problem.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
fixed it. yeah!! thanks for the replies guys.
So i took the top off as the noise was coming from inside...
Automotive tire Gear Wood Auto part Coil
..do you see it?

Brown Wood Auto part Gas Metal
..push rod not pushing...

so a pushrod had popped out of place. i took the rockers off, and everything appears to be in order. put it back together, and its all good. so why did it happen ????

(i did rev it lots, and put it in 4w drive, to get the car up onto the 'stands' so i could work underneath. but was it my rev-ing, or was it the 4w drive, that was too much?)

·
Registered
72 Posts
Hi BigJohnMMXX and welcome to the group.