Jeep Cherokee Talk banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Allot of people will find this information handy. I’ve seen many many posts about issues adding in Amps and the like.

Any upmarket Jeep Vehicles are running a CAN Bus sound system (Please google that). So to add any additional changes to the current system you will need to install this:

PAC AP4 CH41

This is the only option you have. (Please Google that to learn more).

There is no other accessory that will work. You must use that.

If you don’t use that and you try to hook into the current CAN Bus system, you will find that no matter what you do, you have NO volumn control on the amp you install because of the way a CAN Bus Sound System works.

They cost about US$400+$100Postage+Tax.

·
Registered
6,796 Posts
I am not an audio expert, but since you posted the exact same thing in two places (one being a thread from 2011) with different prices I'm inclined to ask: Why?

Why do [we] HAVE to use that device and only that device?
Are there no other similar items on the market in today's world?
What do you mean by "upmarket"?
What year and model Jeeps are you implying this applies to?
I'm fairly confident a 1990 XJ is different that a 2020 Cherokee sound system, and again, while I'm not an audio guy, I do work in CAN based software and I know that CAN is not the same as it used to be.

Maybe some details and a brief explanation on system operation would fill in the answers?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I am not an audio expert, but since you posted the exact same thing in two places (one being a thread from 2011) with different prices I'm inclined to ask: Why?

Why do [we] HAVE to use that device and only that device?
Are there no other similar items on the market in today's world?
What do you mean by "upmarket"?
What year and model Jeeps are you implying this applies to?