Jeep Cherokee Talk banner

1 - 20 of 208 Posts

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all! I'm new to the this, but I've recently took on the project of refreshing my 315,000 mile, dependable Jeep.

·
Registered
175 Posts
welcome to the addiction
and the forum
I want at least 2 more and at most all the jeeps ...ok one of each will do fine ..and a place to put them

have fun with these lil rigs

·
Premium Member
9,257 Posts
Welcome from CA

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
The installation went somewhat smooth, when you get the last 20 years of oil off,lol. I had two gaskets for the oil pump, opted for the felpro. Also, I've saw write-ups suggesting rtv for the RMS, no! I went with the anaombic sealant, worth it, and soaked the gasket itself with new oil as long as you can. No leaks total success!

Attachments

·
Registered
1,127 Posts
Nice work! Looks familiar, i was just there too. Isn’t it fun pounding in the oil pump pickup tube?

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Pick-up tube.. Yeah we don't talk about it, lol. All jokes aside it was the most physically exerting thing about the job. Especially, when your a quarter of the way in, and you realize "hey, I shoulda lubed this thing a bit." That's what she said lmao

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Finally got my front axle treated and painted with por15, ( which takes like 3 days to come off, or rub off rather) shocks on, track bar on. Which that was a real task. After I got a jack under the axle she began manipulating it, finally it cooperated.

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
Now back to the brakes.. which I have already replaced the hard lines, and rubber hoses all to the front. On to these calipers tomorrow

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter #18
The weather however is getting cold on me. It's just down to the rear shocks and shackle replacement and I will be satisfied for a bit.

·
Registered
1,127 Posts