Jeep Cherokee Talk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I'm here in Southern Illinois and I just bought a 2000 XJ for the primary purpose of flat-towing behind my motorhome. Everything on it is completely stock.

On the advice of several in the motorhome community, I have already ordered a JCR Offroad Gladiator Bumper w/ Unibody tie-ins to connect to my roadmaster tow-bar.

In a very near future, I would like to look at increasing tire size and upgrading anything that is necessary to go to ~31" tire-size. I'd be grateful for any advice on this as I am completely new to the XJ scene. From what I can tell, a 3-4" suspension lift is a must. Offroading is something I've never done and would like to begin exploring, more-so toward overlanding / trails and less-so mud/rock-crawling etc.
Thanks for any pointers in the right path!

·
Registered
7,105 Posts
First: Welcome to the jeeplife and offroad world! I'm just NW of you in Iowa. I have friends from southern Ill, specifically closer to Quincy and Staunton.

Start reading. Thats step 1. My thread here is along the lines of what you are describing you want. To fit 31s with stock uncut fenders, you'll need at least a 3.5" lift. I am currently on 4" with 31s and I moved my front fenders up 1.5" to help clear better when under heavy flex. I am warning you now, to run a 3.5"+ lift kit on one of these, you have to do a lot of work. Lots of things to upgrade so it all works together well. There are many threads that document this.
Some useful threads to start reading:

·
Super Moderator
10,522 Posts
Hello and welcome to the community and the forum. You have a ton of options. It all depends on your budget and how you want too accomplish the work. 99 % of us here do our own upgrades and repairs. 31 inch tires is a good starting point. Most people settle in at 33. It's your ride so build it to your specs. 2" of lift is easy and cheap. 3" is about the limit before a small change cost a bunch.