Jeep Cherokee Talk banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I had my 1997 Cherokee in the shop for a water pump replacement. I also mentioned that I thought the brakes were having an issue. When I picked up my car the mechanic (a very good guy) said that the brakes were fine but that the wheel cylinder was leaking badly and soaking the brake pads. This was what was causing the braking problem. He gave me prices for replacing the cylinder, brake shoes and pads. The parts themselves seems inexpensive so my question is whether this might be something I could do myself? I'm not afraid to tackle things like this but I'm no serious mechanic. If this is something I could handle does anyone know of any good build docs (with pictures, etc)?

Many thanks in advance
Kai

·
Registered
356 Posts
I did this on my 89 back when i owned it. Its a really simple install, only 2 bolts holding the cylinder and then the brake line. The trick is to get the disc brake parts back together onto the cylinder and adjust the brakes. Just take pics of how it goes together before you take it apart or pick yourself up a haynes or pics that I am sure someone on here can post up.

·
Registered
334 Posts
I did the brakes on my 90 it was pretty easy I did one side at a time so I could go back and look at the assembled brake the cylinder was 9.00 dollars and lifetime shoes were under 30.00(auto zone) and a can of brake clean

·
Registered
285 Posts
X2 Its real simple. I get at least 3 in our shop a week and it takes about 20 mins to do minus bleeding them after (usually we flush the system). Just ask questions if your stumped. Also get this tool. Its a life saver.

All parts stores carry them for like 10-15 bucks.

·
Premium Member
11,625 Posts