Jeep Cherokee Talk banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. Okay, I'm a noob at anything car related so bare with me please. I'm planning on doing a tune up this weekend on my 98 xj (4.0L 5spd 2wd) and I was wondering what brands were good to use for certain things. I'm planning on at least getting the following, so what are some good brands?
Oil/Oil Filter
Plugs
Cap and Rotor
Air filter
Now for some Qs...
My xj doesn't have a pcv valve right?
As far as sensors go, like tps cps O2 etc...should I change them as well?
How do I change my tranny/tcase fluid? Where is it located?
Does it matter what type of gas you use 87-89-93 etc? I know that some plugs require higher octanes because they burn at a higher temperature or something but what do you guys use/what is better for engine longevity?
My friend was talking about putting some industrial srength coolant that CAT makes into his car. You guys think that might work well?
Okay last one. What about differerntial fluid? How the hell do I change that?

Please bare with me, I'm trying to learn :bow:!
Thanks guys
PS I painted my cladding last weekend and I'll post some pics.
I also made some 1" hood spacers which im installing this weekend too.
cmac

·
Registered
13 Posts
Yea don't change sensors until your check engine light is on. I use Accel cap/rotor, bosch platnum plugs, K&N oil filter with Valvoline maxlife oil.
As for your other questions,
Yes you have a PCV valve. It is on the top of the valve cover.
Put 87 octane in it, that is what it is designed to burn.
Use whatever coolant you want just make sure it is ethylene glycol based.
The rear diff fluid can be changed two ways, 1: is remove the cover to drain the fluid. You will need a new gasket if you go that way. 2: Go to an auto parts store and get a suction gun, and use it to suck out the old fluid. It is not likely you will get all the old fluid out, but it is easier and it is better than nothing.

·
Registered
600 Posts